My First Day as a Veterinarian!

I had a wonderful first day at work! A long, long day but definitely a good one!

I spent nearly 11 hours at work (9AM-7:50PM) and saw 28 patients.

Today was apparently exceptionally busy. The techs Neyamiah and Andrew both told me multiple times that I was doing really well and they were impressed that I jumped in and kept everything going. We had 3 doctors and were down a nurse (technician.) We also had an overbooked surgery schedule (7 dentals, multiple mass removals, a toe amputation and a couple wound/abscess debridements.)

I spent so much of my day hopping that the cases themselves are blending together in my head.

My morning started off a little rough because I landed a recheck for a 7 year old boxer that came in with giant lymph nodes last week and turns out to have high grade (extremely aggressive) lymphoma (cancer.) I didn’t make the diagnosis but I had to have the life expectancy and quality of life talk with these owners I’ve never met. That was a little uncomfortable.

My day got better, though, because I got to see a lot of puppies for vaccinations! I mean, I’m sure it gets boring eventually to vaccinate puppies, but right now it’s fun and sweet. The puppies are adorable, the people are excited and the puppies are healthy!

This entry was posted in Work Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

