Pinterest Food Experiment: Smores Bites

I’m sure it is no big surprise that I love smores. Who doesn’t love smores? Graham crackers, toasty marshmellows and melty chocolate. Delicious! The problem with smores is that I don’t have super regular access to a campfire. Granted, I don’t actually like a lot of the rest of the things involved with a campfire (like smoke, and having to make sure you don’t burn anything down, and bugs.) So, when I found a recipe for making something smores-like inside, I knew I had to try it. And, oh boy, do we have a winner.

The original recipe: http://texascottage.blogspot.com/2011/08/smore-cups.html

Plate of delicious (if not completely lovely looking) smores bites!

Ingredients:
7 graham crackers crushed finely (1 cup)
6 tablespoons butter, melted
1/4 cup powdered sugar
marshmallows
Hershey’s chocolate bars (I used 3  bars, total)

Instructions:
1. Preheat oven to 350.
2. Put your 7 graham crackers in a gallon ziplock baggie and crush them up. I used a 1 cup measuring cup to beat them.
3. Mix the graham cracker crumbs, melted butter and powdered sugar in a bowl.
4. Put a little less than a tablespoon of the mixture into the wells of a mini muffin tin. The recipe claims it’ll make 24, but I only ended up with 16. Make a little well in each crust.
5. Bake the crusts for 3-4 minutes.
6. Put a rectangle of Hershey’s chocolate in each well.

Half a smore!

7. Put half a marshmallow on top of each well.
8. Put back in the oven for 2ish minutes until the marshmallows start to get soft and toasty.
9. Now, you’re supposed to let them cool for 15 minutes, then pull them out of the tin and let them cool completely, but I am not that patient. I managed to leave them in the tin for about 5 minutes before I started prying them out with a fork.
10. After they’re cool, you’re supposed to melt some more chocolate in the microwave (should take about a minute, stirring every 20 seconds) and dip the tops in the chocolate. Given that mine were still too hot to handle, I melted the chocolate and spooned it on top.

Verdict: They’d probably be prettier if you follow all the waiting around for it to cool instructions… but they’re still really, really good even when they aren’t pretty. Also, if you wait for them to cool, you miss out on the gooey deliciousness of warm marshmallow. They are, however, really tasty once they’ve cooled down. We had enough left over to be snacking on them for a couple days and to have Nate take some in to work with him. I think they’ll make a really great picnic dessert!

This entry was posted in Cooking at Home, Food, Pinterest Experiments and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pinterest Food Experiment: Smores Bites

  1. fostrickson says:

    That sounds like heaven! Definitely on my list of things to try. And, I also do not like campfires so this would be perfect for me.

Leave a Reply

