Hospital stay

Sorry for the long absence of blog posts. After the last post about taking Lizzy to the ER for breathing troubles,  we ended up in the hospital for 3 days/2 nights. I’ve been writing and rewriting this post for about a month… it’s hard. I still get a little worked up about it.

After her ER trip Sunday, she perked up a little. But Monday she still wasn’t breathing normally. I put her down for nap and called her pediatrician who said I should bring her in that afternoon. I woke her up from nap and took her in. She was running a fever and had oxygen saturation in the 80s. Her doctor listened to her lungs, looked at her chart and said “I think you know what I’m going to say… she needs to go to the hospital.” I think my stomach hit the ground. I wanted to cry (but didn’t.  Because that would have scared Lizzy more.)

The doctor called the hospital downtown and got her pre-admitted. He also called an ambulance so we could ride with her on oxygen. The paramedics arrived and started her on a nebulizer treatment with supplemental oxygen. I carried her down the elevator and held her while they got the car seat out of my car and strapped it to the gurney. She rode to the hospital in her car seat on a gurney with an oxygen mask on (and a bunch of monitor wires.)

At the hospital, we went right upstairs to the pediatric observation unit and got put into a room. Nate beat us to the hospital. They placed an IV, drew blood and got a nasal oxygen cannula hooked up. They also took an xray and diagnosed her with pneumonia.

After 2 days of oxygen and antibiotics, she finally held her oxygenation on her own and we went home on Wednesday.

Staying in the hospital was the scariest and most tedious experience I’ve ever had.

When we got home, we were surprised to find my friend who fed the animals for us also cleaned up the living room and did the dishes. She was a life saver. We ran Lizzy through a quick bath and right to nap. Hodgins was actually really happy to see her.

This entry was posted in Around Town, Lizzy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

